top of page

Everything you need to know about the Netflix documentary "What the Health"


The last few weeks the internet has gone viral about the latest Netflix original, "What the Health". The documentary is by film maker Kip Anderson who is also known for "Cowspiracy" and the "Sea of Life". Before watching the film, I was very skeptical, if not anxious. I was afraid to see the film because of how much of a fuss people were making on Facebook and Twitter. But because I am conscious, and Knowledge is my religion, I could not turn down the opportunity to learn.

Firstly, I want to say that at this point in time I cannot fully drop meat. I know some of you who have seen the film will see it as ridiculous. But for right now, I don't think its possible for me to go "cold turkey". Long term, I would eventually like to transition to vegetarian because of watching this film. I am admitting that right now being fully vegan is just too hard. But what I learned from the movie is this: MEAT IS AS BAD AS ICE CREAM, SODA, CANDY, TOBACCO, AND ALCOHOL FOR THE BODY.

That being said, I like meat. I've been classically conditioned to eat meat. But, just like I know tobacco and alcohol are bad for you, the goal is to limit and control my meat intake. My personal vendetta is to be 80% vegetarian for now, eating meat 3-4 times a week. We all should watch this movie and elect to do the best we can to abstain from constant meat eating. No one is perfect. Remember it is a process. Now let's get into what I found the most beneficial points from the film.

1) Capitalism has corrupted our health.

I'm sure most of us know this already, but capitalism has diminished ethical approaches to agribusiness. "What the Health" reports that the Susan G. Komen Foundation is sponsored by YUM! Brands, Deitz & Watson, and Yoplait, all companies containing animal based, processed foods. The entire premise of WTH is to inform the viewer that animal based products cause disease such as cancer, diabetes, Alzheimer's, etc.

Some of you may be thinking "philanthropy is good". Yes philanthropy is good for funding many non profit organizations, and I am certainly not saying that giving back is bad. What I am saying is that lobbyists with corporate interests are funding some of the very foundations such as the American Diabetes Association to misinform us about what causes disease and malnutrition.

2) Hospitals have failed us.

Now I know what you are thinking. "Why is he attacking the hospitals!?!" Watch the film. Several times throughout the film hospital employees (including physicians) claimed that hospitals are not in the business to permanently heal. They politely and bluntly stated that hospitals are in the business to treat you, but not fix your problem. I found this very troublesome as a viewer. The fact that doctors were willing to prescribe meat despite the fact that the World Health Organization has stated that meat has level 1 carcinogens literally blew my mind! The good news is that there were some doctors however on there promoting plant based diets which is the goal after learning the truth.

3) BIG PHARMA IS NOT IN BUSINESS TO HELP YOU

Again, like hospitals failing the people, this one too is clearly obvious. Big Pharma is one of the biggest lobbyists on Capitol Hill. Not only were many people on medication because of an animal based diet, but the health problems that proceeded were unbelievable. One person on the film literally said that he needed a medication to urinate because of all the other medications he takes for his health issues.

4) The Protein Myth

Here is where I found possibly the most informative aspect of the film. The alarming fact of the matter is that all the proteins in animals consumed for food are not from that said animal. Animals are unable to turn amino acids into proteins. Plants however do take nitrogen from the air and convert it into amino acids. Thus, every protein in animals is from plants they already ate. This film showed me to cut out the middle man and get the proteins directly from the source - plants!

5) We aren't focusing enough on our Fiber intake.

One physician in the film said that he rarely hears of protein deficiencies in patients. He does however constantly see patients who are not getting enough Fiber. WTH showed me that yes, protein is definitely fundamental, but focus on fiber is equally necessary. Focus on fiber like you focus on proteins.

6) The "Paleo Diet" is BULLSHIT

Rarely will you find me cursing in my pieces, but when it is necessary, it is necessary. "What the Health" fully showed me that the Paleo diet is basically a joke. First off, people who lived in the Paleolithic Age ate meat, but very rarely, despite what we are taught. Most people of the Paleolithic Age ate berries and other types of fruits and vegetables gathered. So most people claiming to eat like the people of the era, realistically are not. Additionally, as stated earlier, an animal based diet leads to lots of long term diseases. Drop the "Paleo" diet while you're ahead. "Its so easy a cave man could do it...."

7) Humans are NOT Omnivores!

Here is where I personally owe my vegan and vegetarian friends an apology. I was making major claims that homo sapiens are omnivorous. The truth is, humans are NOT omnivores at all. What we are in actuality are frugivores. We act like omnivores, but we really are frugivores. This means we are mostly supposed to eat fruits, nuts, and vegetables - AKA plants! Don't believe me? Watch the film, or do your own research.

There are a slew of other things from the film such as the information that animals being raised for consumption contributes to deforestation, green house gas emissions, and ocean dead zones. I am still doing my further research on these things specificially. Ultimately, what I have learned from WTH is simple: plant based diets are the optimal way to go.

That being said, I am not about to try and force anyone to change their diets. I am merely asking that people watch the film, do their research, and make the changes they see fit. I already had been making attempts at eating meatless meals and less processed foods, but WTH sort of "sealed the deal".

You don't have to become a full on vegan. But understand, like smoking lots of tobacco or drinking too much alcohol, over consumption of animal based products is going to harm you in the long run. I am choosing to focus on a mostly plant based diet, pushing for 80% vegetarian right now. But I'll admit it. I like ice cream! It won't happen over night for anyone unless they are super disciplined. That is why I say, assess the information and make the choice for yourself that you see best fit.

The choice is yours.



RECENT POST
bottom of page