top of page

How Did You Handle 2017?


(Photo credit: Medical News Today)

2017 is almost over. I remember the first day of it. Many people were upset because of the 2016 election, myself included. I will admit that I was consumed in disappointment, sorrow, frustration, and even rage. Part of this probably is due to the fact that my New Year's Resolution was to give up fast food. I definitely had some speed bumps with that, but overall - decreased my intake by 70-80%. But to stay on topic, one thing that stuck out, I noticed that social media in particular became very hostile.

(Photo Credit: Deep Patel.com)

One of the Millennial Gazette contributors Frazier Black published a story back in August about making "choices" and how they were going to affect our personal realities. Frazier and I had that discussion way before he wrote the story. We discussed how it is crucial in 2017 to realize the power in choice. With choice comes consequence, and with consequence can come both positive and negative. I was determined that I would not be ruled by emotions, but that I would be ruled by choice. I refused to let others dictate my happiness. Now that the year is almost over, I'd like to reflect on that.

I chose to step outside my comfort zone this year. I decided I would get involved in philanthropy to fight the good fight against the political powers blocking progress in the United States. When the travel ban happened, I joined the ACLU Texas as a paid member. When the federal government decided not to fund Planned Parenthood anymore, I became a donor. I figured, at the very least I could help those I care about rather than complain that my government did not care about things important to me. I guess I took a "put your money where your mouth is" approach.

(Photo Credit: BIG EAST Conference)

I chose to go for one of my dreams, to watch my basketball team Xavier compete in the 2017 BIG EAST tournament. Growing up in Philly, I always was in tune with college basketball and over time quickly became a fan of the BIG EAST conference. I'm talking way back to the days of Syracuse and Pittsburgh, but also the days when Virginia Tech, and Miami FL were in the BIG EAST. When I got to college at Xavier (OH), I had big dreams to see us join the conference. My last year there, we became members of the BIG EAST! I said to myself that day, "I will see the Musketeers in Madison Square Garden within the first three years". I made that dream complete year three. I made a lot of sacrifices to make that happen, but it was one of the best experiences of my life.

When I chose to enroll in the University of Houston System in 2016 I made a pledge that I would be on the Dean's List twice before I graduate. While that dream has yet to be fulfilled I'm halfway there. In Spring 2017 I made the Dean's List. As someone who never made the honor roll, this was one of the most validating experiences of my life. I can't wait to hit the Dean's List again! (And I will).

While many things upset me this year, I chose to continue to live about my daily life. Am I happy that Donald Trump is president? Absolutely not, but I've come to terms with it. I was serving my community since I was a child. In high school I was in the community service club (under President Bush), at Xavier I was a member of the Gentlemen Organized for Achievement & Leadership (under President Obama), after I graduated I was a member of the AmeriCorps and the Episcopal Service Corps (also under Obama), and now under President Trump, I'm a member of a community service fraternity. If you care about the community and betterment of mankind the work never stops.

(Photo Credit: Business Insider)

I stopped whining on social media. I stepped up financially, spiritually, emotionally, and physically. No matter who is in charge, America has problems. In my entire 28 years of existence there have always been homelessness, child hunger, child obesity, sexual assault, racism, homophobia, and misogyny regardless of party. I may not have always know what these things are, but they've always existed.

My question is, what are you willing to do? How much are you going to let people dictate your happiness in 2018? Why won't you go after your dreams? Why would you let someone beautiful walk out of your life? Why are you settling for less? Its up to you to make the choices to get what you want out of life, that's what 2017 has taught me. Nobody is going to hand you anything, and sometimes the people in power may even make rules or regulations to hurt you.

(Photo Credit: Carolina Huddle)

What I say to that is be the change you wish to see in the world in 2018. Take the passion in your rage and use it to make change. Take a social media detox if you need to, cause what I've learned during mine was "twitter fingers don't change much". Challenge yourself, take that leap of faith you've always wanted. Don't let good people in your life go unappreciated. Go skydiving! Whatever it is you've always wanted, go after it.

Life is too short, and 2017 is already over. Choices I've made this year will set me up to reap next year's blessings. For 2018, I have not chosen my mantra. But I will continue to grow, continue to spread kindness, and continue to make choices. Take risks, but make sure they are calculated so that you can grow. But most of all.....

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL IT IS TOO LATE.



RECENT POST
bottom of page